Fans of Trespasser may be led to believe that Richard Attenborrough's collaboration with the game was unique. However, this is not quite accurate. Back in 1997, a year before Trespasser was released, another game was put on store shelves that captivated fans of Jurassic Park on a whole different level of fun: Chaos Island- The Lost World: Jurassic Park. Loosely based on the events from the second film, the game was a mission-based, WarCraft-esque, dinosaur-infested strategy adventure. It's main goal was to get the main characters from the film through various tasks before leaving the troubled island. Along the way the player would come across many of the dinosaurs from the film, but also constantly be harassed by hunters. The player would not only be able to play humans, but dinosaurs as well (thanks to a "special DNA serum" used to hatch your own dinosaurs that can be controlled). What made this game so unique, even today, was not it's story or fun use of the strategy format, but the fact it had the same actors who portrayed their roles in the film do so in the game as well! Among the actors, of course, was Richard Attenborrough.


    Many people have fond memories of this simple yet fun game that came out around the same time The Lost World: Jurassic Park did. I myself am one of those people, and have always been entertained by it's fun version of the film's story, with the actors clearly having a good time with their voice acting talents. In fact, the John Hammond portrayed in this game is far more like the easy-going millionaire we all know and love from the films, rather than the more solemn man we know from his Jurassic Time Hammond Memoir. Although Hammond is not the main star of Chaos Island (most of the dialogue goes to Jeff Goldblum's Ian Malcolm character), his performance here should not be missed, as well as everyone else's. It's very rare for a game version of a popular film to feature the same cast doing new work with their same characters. The only other game I can think of that has done this to the extent of Chaos Island was the new Ghostbusters video game.

    As a fan of Chaos Island and it's unique use of voice talent, I have decided to not let their performances be forgotten and be available for all to hear in a audio presentation. Using Remdul's game editing tool (available from his great fansite), I was able to assemble the mission briefing, video clip, journal, and other sound bytes to create what I have called: "Total Chaos". About 30 minutes long, it chronicles the story of the game simply as it had played out, inter-cut with Ian Malcolm's journal. In addition to that, there is a bonus track using music from the game (composed by Michael Giacchino) overlayed with other audio sound bytes. Although this presentation was nowhere near as challenging as the Hammond Memoir, it was done purely for fun and to have something to remember the game by.

Click on my cheaply-hastened logo below to download this special presentation, which includes all 28 MP3 tracks and tracklist. I hope you enjoy it.

Arranged By Derrick Davis (aka Scallenger)
From The Dreamworks Interactive Game Chaos Island- The Lost World: Jurassic Park
Written By Danny Hartigan & Tim Wade
Characters & Situations By Michael Crichton
Music By Michael Giacchino


Richard Attenborrough as John Hammond
Jeff Goldblum as Ian Malcolm
Julianne Moore as Sarah Harding
Vince Vaughn as Nick Van Owen
Richard Schiff as Eddie Carr
Vanessa Lee Chester as Kelli Curtis

Track List

01-  Introduction
02-  Finding Sarah On Nublar
03-  Ian’s Journal 1
04-  Controlling Dinosaurs
05-  Ian’s Journal 2
06-  Crashed Ship On Sorna
07-  The Stowaway
08-  Ian’s Journal 3
09-  The Hunters
10-  Ian’s Journal 4
11-  Intervention
12-  Ian’s Journal 5
13-  Search And Rescue Mission
14-  Ian’s Journal 6
15-  T-Rex Trouble
16-  Ian’s Journal 7
17-  Gambler’s Ruin
18-  Ian’s Journal 8
19-  Valley Of Death
20-  Ian’s Journal 9
21-  Eddie Taken
22-  Ian’s Journal 10
23-  Problems Persist
24-  Ian’s Journal 11
25-  Final Showdown
26-  Ian’s Journal 12
27-  Leaving The Island
28- Bonus Track- Biography Of Musical Chaos